Moments of Impact.

 

Day 7: A photo of something that makes you happy. 🙂

Being my indecisive self, I can’t choose just one photo. Many, many things in this world make me happy, especially these things I like to think of as moments of impact.  These moments that feel infinite. Moments that transform. I first heard of this concept in the movie The Vow, which I’m sure many of you have seen, and I think of it as the perfect way to describe these moments of pure happiness. This is how it’s described in the movie:

“My theory is about moments. Moments of impact. My theory is that these moments of impact, these flashes of high intensity that completely turn our lives upside down actually end up defining who we are. Each one of us is the sum total of every moment that we’ve ever experienced. It’s these that become our history, these moments of total physical, mental, and every other kind of love.

So that is my theory, that these moments of impact define who we are. A moment of impact. A moment of impact has potential for change, has ripple effects far beyond what we can predict.”

-Channing Tatum, The Vow.

Moments of Impact.

IMG_1339
Yosemite National Park, California. 2015.

The world is magic.

The sublime beauty suspends my very existence.

Each trail & path & wrong turn is a vein

Each rock & tree & creature an organ

all part of an Eternal Being – Yosemite,

a breathing planet all its own.

Today, I am its heartbeat.


“Sometimes I feel like I’m going to explode with emotion when I experience good art. I can’t even explain what it does to me. It pulls my very soul as close to the surface as it can get without actually escaping my body. I’m addicted to this feeling.” -January 13 2016.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth College. 2015.

 


 

IMG_1856
4:35 AM sunrise on Hampton Beach. 2014.It was summer. 

 

 

It was summer.

The sand was a desert.

The alignment of the planet

was on our side 

because it was warm 

and I could see sunshine

and that’s something we don’t get a lot of.

 

 

 

 


 

IMG_1151
Somewhere in California. 2015.

 

Tuesdays and Wednesdays

are twins that wear the same hats.


They grin at the way we walk

down busy street corners together

stepping over cracks

in the sidewalk

and pretending we’re not hurt.


Life would be far too dull if we didn’t have to fistfight our way through it.

IMG_4282
Parachute at The Royale, Boston. 2016.

 


IMG_3270
Rock Rimmon, New Hampshire. Sunset. 2015.

I found myself running towards it

the pink and peach sky

it was getting real close…

I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to the sun, 

when I felt something closing in.

It was you. 

You stopped me in my tracks

cast a shadow over my peachy sky

and I fell on my knees in surrender. 

*All images and words created by ‘Survival of a College Kid’*

5 thoughts on “Moments of Impact.

  1. Happy to see you posting every day. Something cool and new to look forward to! Awesome pictures, by the way, they are professional-like. Great writer, photographer; dang, multi-talented over there (:

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I am one of your biggest fans over here, so I am obligated to be excited for all of your amazing posts! Many more compliments are in the future, I am sure. & you’re too sweet, thank you (:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

