Happy April Blogging Challenge: Day 1

The Happy April Blogging Challenge!

(Challenge created by the awesome blogger Synnical Thoughts)

Day 1: A photo of yourself and description of your day.

IMG_4170Here’s me. No, it’s not a trick of the light, I really am that pale…

(I blame my French Canadian roots.)

Happy April Fool’s Day! So I’m typically a big prankster on this day of the year, and I’m disappointed in myself for not coming up with something clever to pull today… In my glory days I’d teepee my sisters bedroom, make every single clock in the house an hour ahead, and once I even plastic-wrapped the door frame to our kitchen. What, too much?

Now that I’m two years into college, I realize those fun goofy things I used to spend my time doing have been replaced with icky adulty things. Not that it’s necessarily a bad thing, I fully enjoy what I do, but days like April Fool’s Day make me reflect a bit on the inevitability of “growing up”. Though, I have a child-like spirit I know will always be a part of me.

Today was filled with those icky adulty things:

  • Woke up at 6:00 AM to my radio alarm (set to a throwback Boys Like Girls album…You know, that one with ‘The Great Escape’ and ‘Hero/Heroine’??)
  • Went to my ‘Philosophy: Human Nature’ seminar this morning. And let me just say, I thoroughly disagree with Descartes’ pessimistic dismissal of the credibility of our own senses!!!!
  • Went to my office job on campus, in the Communications and Marketing Department. It was my boss’s last day, and me and her exchanged a teary-eyed hug and some sad parting words. I’m really, really terrible with goodbyes…
  • Headed over to the local art museum to drop off my application! Fingers crossed I get that curatorial internship, that’d be SO sweet! Send good vibes.

And here we are, up to speed. But the day’s not over yet. I have a super exciting event waiting for me tonight….A PARACHUTE CONCERT! *crickets* Yeah, they’re not very well known. But they’ve been my official Band of Nostalgia for quite a few years now, and I get to go see them in Boston! I love concerts, I love Boston, I love Parachute, what could be better?

At least I can forget my icky adulty stuff for a couple hours to enjoy a very cool evening.

2 thoughts on “Happy April Blogging Challenge: Day 1

  1. I bet I could beat you in a competition of paleness. Or we could unite. Uniting is probably better (it’s a tough world for us pale people, no?).

    I’m crossing all my fingers for your internship, and I hope you enjoy your concert!! If you haven’t already been. In which case, I hope it was amazing ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You know what? Let’s join forces. You’re now my sister of paleness, because you know what it’s like to be fully sunburnt from head to toe after 30 minutes in the summer sun.

      Also, thank you so much for the positive words!! I’ll be posting about what happens once I know about the internship 🙂 And the concert was AMAZING! There’s nothing like live music.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

