Life 101: College Kid’s Blogging Journey!

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

My fellow humans, I’m Jess (a.k.a, College Kid).

I’m a 19 year old college gal in the U.S.A! I major in English (yes, by choice), and I’m a total dork about how wonderful planet Earth is and everything precious that lives on it. Oh, and I really enjoy coffee, sunflowers, travel, sarcasm, and knowing random facts that will most likely never be useful.

…Shakespeare invented the word ‘elbow’.

I am a LOVER of-

  • Poetry & books
  • Healthy and positive lifestyle experimentation
  • Speaking sarcasm
  • Travel & European Culture
  • Playing piano
  • Acrylic Painting
  • Crafty projects
  • Cosmology & Astrophysics
  • Learning about new subjects whenever I get the chance
  • Buddhism philosophy & practice
  • Romance (Yes, I believe in happy endings. Sue me.)

To you, I may just be your run-of-the-mill 19 year old. Maybe some of my interests sound cliche, and maybe you feel as though nothing I’d have to say would be of any value to you.

Fair enough. But let me make my case:

I grew up in what you’d call your ‘everyday American suburbia’. I am from a well-to-do family. Two sisters, a black lab dog, three cats, backyard space with room to ride bikes and practice cartwheels. My older sister and I would blow basketball-sized bubbles that would eventually drift away with the breeze, until they popped and the juice sprinkled down over our heads. It was a good life. Catholic private schools, high school uniforms, straight-A’s, summer crushes, part time cashier jobs, college acceptances, and all the screwed up dark gaps that fill in those sunny chapters.

But here’s the point of all this: The typical 18 year old starts college, and suddenly everything they knew is now off the table. We were forced to forget everything we thought we could count on about the way our lives previously functioned. We essentially revert back to our original states of infancy, unknowing and vulnerable, forced to learn how to build our bruised selves back up again. But as a beautiful consequence we are, for the very first time, given the chance to decide for ourselves, who me is going to be. The tough part is there’s simply no quick fix to this inner chaos, no golden Manual that guides us to the “correct” path to happiness.

For once, it’s fully up to us to find these answers.

And THAT is why I believe I have something valuable to contribute to your hearts and minds, lovely readers. I am just about the most passionate 19 year old you may encounter about these matters. It has quickly become my most important realization, and biggest mission, that I must discover the best paths to happiness (fortunately for us, there are many ways to get there). And now, my job is to share with you all what works-and also plenty of what doesn’t.

Let’s go on this wild ride, together.

-College Kid

16 thoughts on “Life 101: College Kid’s Blogging Journey!

  1. I would greatly appreciate comments and thoughts on what you think, and/or any suggestions on different directions you would like to see me take with this blog. 🙂 I’d love to build a community of shared ideas and creativity! Much love.

    Like

  2. Hey, welcome to WordPress! The beauty of blogging is that you get to write about anything you want. When I first started I was always worried about what other people wanted to read, rather than what I wanted to write. Then I stopped caring and just started writing about whatever I wanted, which would be my advice to you! Feel free to check out a variety of blogs and see what works for them, and don’t be afraid to leave comments – wordpress seems to have the friendliest people you could imagine. Hope I kinda helped. Good luck and all the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Paul, thank you so much for the encouragement! You’re the first friendly person to reach out and make me feel welcome on WordPress. I appreciate the advice and definitely take it to heart. I’ve really enjoyed looking through your blog as well – looking forward to future posts. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment! Much love, Jess.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey greetings, you said your into Cosmology & Astrophysics, I’ve been into Astrology the last few months kinda interesting stuff from western radix and eastern astrology from the vedics.

    Your also into Buddhism philosophy & practice would also recommend to get to know Taoism. Really intersting too.

    Also will start to share my Youtube Account my Blog. There will some nice Videos.
    Alan Watts

    Haha, I think I’m also gonna write about these topics. You reminded of how much I read, watched and didn’t blogged about.

    If you got any question depending on a topic, feel free to ask.

    Thanks for sharing and welcome.
    Namaste

    brealche

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brealche,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posts and comment. It sounds like we have very similar interests! Thanks for referring me to those types of astrology, that’s a topic I know very little about. I’ll have to check it out and maybe even make a post about it.

      Also, thanks for sharing that video! That’s one of the best pairings of animation and audio I’ve heard in a long time, Alan Watts is an amazing man and great thinker. I took a lot away from what he had to say!

      I’ll keep up to speed with your blog. Looking forward to reading your posts on those topics you love.

      Peace,
      Jess

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey Jess,

        just recently found out about human design, also something you can check out it’s very interesting.

        Hope that helps along the way. Will do a post on that when I researched it a bit more 🙂

        Breath deep,
        Brealche – Aleks

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello Aleks!
        Okay that is something I know nothing about, so I will totally look into that. You should really make a post about it!

        Also, I hope you’ll maybe consider making a post sometime on Taoism. I know very little but the topic interests me greatly. 🙂

        Thanks again for your wonderful thoughts,
        Jess.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey great introduction! Warm welcome to the blogging community 🙂

    Your life sounds interesting, if I may say so. Your outlook is refreshing.

    It seems unfair I know about your life, yet you don’t know about mine. Let me give you an introduction. It is not half as interesting as yours. 😛

    I’m an 18 year old girl, college kid. I lead a simple life with simple goals. I have an elder sister who loves to boss me around. She is the best hugger. 😛
    I am from India. I lead a comfortable life. I have all I could ask for.

    There have been some disappointments along the way. I try to deal with them, one at a time.
    Confidence and communication never came easily to me. Writing, however did.

    I have a history of crushes on fictional guys. They are too good to be true.
    I have lost many friends along the way. Made many new, in college.

    After the loss of my cousin sister, I stopped believing in God or anything religious.
    I just believe in this day, in you and in me.

    Waow. That was longer than expected 😛

    So anyway, I hope you have a wonderful blogging experience. It is one of the best things that happened to me. 🙂

    Excuse any error.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hello Insight! 🙂 Thank you so so much for such a warm welcome.

    First off, I loved reading your little life story! It sounds as though we have a lot in common. And I strongly believe no one’s life is more interesting or important than another’s, it sounds to me like you lead a beautiful and meaningful life. 🙂

    I think you have a truly beautiful and rare outlook on life, one that realizes the importance of living right now and in this moment. Writing has also been a favorite escape for me as well, because communication tends to be difficult for me sometimes too.

    I can’t wait to read more from you and your blog!

    Shanti (I hope I’m using the correct word for Peace in your country of India),
    -Jess 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey Jess 🙂

      Thanks for that reply!
      Yes, you’ve used the correct word for peace in Hindi. But don’t confuse it to be the national language of India. We are a country of many languages. 😛

      Have a great day ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

